EP120 – Magnitude of Surgical anatomy details for Thyroid Cancer patients treatment


    Romanchishen, Anatoly1; Romanchishen, Filipp1; Karpatsky, Igor1; Vabalayte, Kristina1
    1 Department of hospital surgery of Saint-Petersburg Pediatric Medical University, Saint-Petersburg Center of Endocrine Surgery and Oncology, Russia

     The aim of the research was an improvement of TC patients’ surgical treatment results.

    Methods: The technique of thyroid gland (TG) resections were developed during 42 autopsies and surgical dissections of 587 TG ligaments, 1717 recurrent laryngeal nerves (RLN), 177 spinal accessory nerves (SAN).

    Results:  Before entry into a larynx RLN could divided on 2 or more branches (26.7%), crossed by an artery and vein (95.3%). Preventive ligation of crossing vessels provided hemostasis. Zuckerkandl’s tubercle (ZT) was found in 60.0% of anatomical and 73.4% – clinical cases. ZT tumors were found in 12.5%. SAN descended from jugular aperture of skull in front and laterally – in 85.4%, behind – in 12.2% and medially – in 2.4% to internal jugular vein. Further SAN passed along back surface of sternocleidomastoid muscle (SCMM), penetrated (87.8%) or passed adjacent to it (12.2%). Connection of SAN and C3 was revealed in 73.2%. Surgical topography of SAN depend considerably of approaches chosen (by Romanchishen or MacFee). SAN lefts the SCMM at level of middle third in 24.4% and lower – in 61.0%. Clinical use of this knowledge during 6148 operations provided decrease of RLN palsy up to 0.31%, SAN – up to 0.41%.

    Conclusion: Precise anatomical technique of RLN, SAN dissection during  Thyroidectomy and neck lymphadenectomy ensured the safety of TC patients surgery.


Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events


    World Congress on Thyroid Cancer 3.5
    June 20 – 22, 2019
    Rome, Italy

    World Congress on Thyroid Cancer 4.0
    July 29 – August 1, 2021
    Boston, Massachusetts


  • WCTC3.5 Steering Committee:


    Rocco Bellatone, Co-Chair
    Celestino Lombardi, Co-Chair
    Gregory W. Randolph, MD
    Bryan McIver, MD
    Jeremy Freeman, MD
    Ian J. Witterick, MD
    Ashok R. Shaha, MD
    Jatin P. Shah, MD